23rd Annual Gilbert Community Excellence Awards

  • Share:
Name: 23rd Annual Gilbert Community Excellence Awards
Date: September 27, 2018
Time: 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM MST
Event Description:

Know Before You Go!
  • Attendees may pre-purchase raffle and beverage tickets in advance. Cash Bar $5.00 (Beer, Wine & Soda). Raffle Tickets 1 for $20; 3 for $40; 5 for $50. Click Here
Raffle prizes include a gift certificate good for a three-credit course at Chandler-Gilbert Community College; a custom-framed paper print of Gilbert; and four one-way Southwest flight e-passes each valid for one-way travel on Southwest operated, published, and scheduled service. Southwest flight e-passes can be combined for roundtrip travel and are valid only in the United States, its territories and its possessions, including Puerto Rico. (must be 19 or older)
  • We will host a Gilbert Feeding Families coin drive to benefit United Food Bank. Every dollar donated provides 5 meals to someone in need. Please bring loose change or bills to donate.
  • Recommended attire is semi-formal, cocktail attire. 


Sponsored by APS, this formal evening is filled with celebration as attendees honor those in the community who have excelled in the areas of business, education and community involvement. A partnershipbetween the Gilbert Chamber of Commerce, Gilbert Public Schools, Higley Unified School District, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, the Town of Gilbert and the Republic Media, the evening is truly a community event!

This event features Gilbert's Culinary Showcase with samplings provided by some of your local, favorite restaurants. A cash bar will be available for the purchase of soda, beer, and wine. Culinary showcase participants include Buffalo Wild Wings, Sushi Brokers, Dragon Wok Fine Chinese Restaurant, Zappone's Italian Bistro, Arizona BBQ, Nothing Bundt Cakes, Wildflower Bread Company,The Nitro Live Icecreamery and Garage East. 

**Please note, the event will not include an intermission this year. The Culinary Showcase will only be open from 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM. Please take this opportunity to enjoy dinner and dessert samplings. The coffee station and cash bar will be open throughout the program. 

2018 Award Recipients

Chandler-Gilbert Community College
Sue Gaumont, Educator of the Year Award
Julie Wright, Staff Member of the Year Award

Gilbert Chamber of Commerce
Newman Realty, Spirit of Business Award
Former Mayor Cynthia Dunham, Visionary Award
Jan Newton, Nothing Bundt Cakes, The Leon Uhlhorn Chairman's Award

Gilbert Public Schools
Vicki Willems, The Dr. Wally Delecki Educator of the Year Award
Sherry Hornby, The Mrs. Sharon Orr Support Staff of the Year Award
Dawn Romero, The Mrs. Sheila Rogers Uggetti Volunteer of the Year Award

Higley Unified School District
Sarah Beimfohr, Educator of the Year Award
Angie Marqueling, Support Staff of the Year Award
Bob Lilienthal with Plato & Socrates, Volunteer of the Year Award

The Gilbert Republic
Nationwide Realty Investors-Rivulon Project, Beautification Award
Paul Norbut, The Geneva Clay Community Volunteer Award

Town of Gilbert
James Nelson, Tim Dorn Public Safety Award
Larry Taylor, Mayor’s Municipal Employee of the Year Award
Jim Frazier, Municipal Volunteer of the Year Award

The Leon Uhlhorn Chairman's Award is presented by
Martin Uhlhorn and Strong Tower Insurance Group

Event Sponsors:

Tier II

Tier III

  • Elaine Kessler Photography
  • Southwest Airlines
Event Sponsors:



The Falls Event Center
4635 E. Baseline Road
Gilbert, AZ  85234

Date/Time Information:
Thursday, September 27, 2018
6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Contact Information:
Annette Sellers
Set a Reminder:
Enter your email address below to receive a reminder message.