Higley Unified School District Named Runner-Up for the Lou Ella Kleinz Excellence in Governance Award

  • Share:
December 18, 2018

The Higley Unified School District Governing Board was named a runner-up for the 2018 Lou Ella Kleinz Excellence in Governance Award by The Arizona School Boards Association.

The current Higley board – President Kristina Reese, Vice President Amy Kaylor, Member Scott Glover, Member Rick Thornock and Member Greg Wojotovich – were recognized Friday, Dec. 14, 2018, at the annual Arizona School Boards Association (ASBA) conference in Phoenix.

ASBA’s criteria for the award, from the website, states: “The winning board will have shown board initiative, action and leadership in the following areas:

• Focuses on students,
• Demonstrates progress in achieving goals,
• Fosters increased parental involvement,
• Develops collaboration with social agencies and/or community groups, including other governing bodies,
• Creates a school community which fosters quality performance and innovation.”

The winning board is selected by a panel of past presidents of ASBA.